John Hendrickson Receives the Industry’s Highest Honor, the Ivan D. Combe Lifetime Achievement Award

Washington, D.C. (March 13, 2018) –Today, the Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) awarded the Ivan D. Combe Lifetime Achievement Award to John T. Hendrickson. The award is the highest honor given by the U.S. consumer healthcare industry, bestowed upon outstanding individuals whose actions have created a lasting impact on the people and the affairs of the consumer healthcare industry, and directly improved self-care for U.S. consumers.   

The award is named in honor of Ivan D. Combe, an exemplary industry leader and visionary who served on CHPA’s board of directors from 1958 until 2000. The award is presented annually to deserving individuals who, through a lifetime commitment to advancing consumer healthcare: (1) promote exemplary leadership, character, confidence and integrity; (2) dedicate time to the community through leading health projects or charitable initiatives; and (3) showcase professional excellence, an innovative and collegial spirit, and commitment to industry activities and advocacy initiatives.  

This year’s award recipient, John Hendrickson, spent most of his career in the OTC business working for a single company for 29 years. He started as a research and development group leader, and director of engineering at Perrigo Company plc. Over the years Hendrickson grew to assume more and more responsibilities, and ultimately rose to become Perrigo’s president and CEO, until his retirement from the company just last month. During his time at Perrigo, Hendrickson helped grow and diversify the company from $150 million in revenue in 1989, to more than $5 billion domestic and international sales in more than 60 countries.

During his lengthy involvement with CHPA, Hendrickson chaired four different committees including the finance committee, executive committee, personnel committee, and eventually served a three-year term as chair of the CHPA board of directors.  

“This was particularly notable as it was the first time in CHPA’s long history that a private label manufacturer chaired the association’s board of directors,” said Scott Melville, CHPA president and CEO. “As chair, he created solid unity between branded and private-label OTC manufacturers on divisive issues with warmth, grace, and diplomacy.”

Hendrickson actively supports Michigan enterprises, sitting on the boards of local business organizations, including Business Leaders for Michigan and the West Michigan Policy Forum. He and his wife Mary are also very involved in their community through their support of several local charitable organizations. Hendrickson also sits on the board of the Grand Rapids Symphony.  

“While John describes himself as tremendously competitive, he believes it’s equally as important to partner and support others in their journey,” said Jeff Needham, CHPA chair and current executive vice president and president, Consumer Healthcare Americas, Perrigo Company. “His business success, industry commitment, community involvement, and spirit of giving back to others makes John an extremely deserving recipient of this year’s Ivan D. Combe Lifetime Achievement Award.”


The Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) is the 137-year-old national trade association representing the leading manufacturers and marketers of over-the-counter (OTC) medicines and dietary supplements. Every dollar spent by consumers on OTC medicines saves the U.S. healthcare system $6-$7, contributing a total of $102 billion in savings each year. CHPA is committed to empowering self-care by preserving and expanding choice and availability of consumer healthcare products.

Contact: Lauren Bloomberg (